The restaurant and bar, however, are the centre piece of Cañon Roadhouse. The front of a truck adorns the wall. Dimmed headlights cast a soft light over the counter of 'Wheels Bar'. The truck's bumper serves as a shelf for glasses and bottles. Tools hang on the wall like artefacts, and old car advertisements revive a time, when every road held the promise of adventure...
Cañon Roadhouse - A Truck on the Wall

After several hours of driving on the gravel road we suddenly come across a sign-board with a sad Smiley asking: thirsty? It has us wondering. What is it there for? No idea. Then, another Smiley: hungry? Now we are getting interested. Soon enough there is sign number three with a twinkling Smiley: feeling sleepy? Expectations. Excitement. And joy: Smiley number four is grinning happily and announces a roadhouse!

Cañon Roadhouse offers wholesome, hearty meals in the comfortable atmosphere of a renovated farmhouse. Apart from the restaurant there are seven double rooms and two family units en suite. They enclose a courtyard, tastefully arranged with plants
.
Behind the Scenes
Self Sufficiency Centre
Our Team

Guestbook
Newsletter
Reservations
How to get there
The restaurant flows onto an attractive terrace with a rock-garden. If you want to refresh yourself from the outside as well you will find a swimming pool close-by. And there is a filling station for the thirsty car.

A few hundred metres away, on the other side of the seasonal Holoog Mountain River, soft sand under wide camel thorn trees invites campers to pitch their tent. There are two ablution blocks with showers, toilets and kitchen sinks. And if you want to take a day off from cooking your own dinner you are most welcome at the Roadhouse restaurant.

Nature Investments (Pty) Ltd, PO Box 80205, Windhoek, Namibia, Tel: 264 (0)61 230066, Fax: 264 (0)61 251863, eMail: info@sinadalian.com

Website by SOUTHERN DOMAIN - Cape Town

Herzstück des Cañon Roadhouse sind jedoch Restaurant und Bar: Der Kühlergrill eines Lastwagens ziert als Relief die Wand, während die auf Parklicht gestellten Scheinwerfer die Theke der 'Wheels Bar' in gedämpftes Licht tauchen und die Stoßstange als Regal für Gläser und Flaschen dient. Werkzeuge hängen wie Artefakte an der Wand und alte Autoreklamen lassen eine Zeit aufleben, in der jede Straße ein Abenteuer verhieß...
Cañon Roadhouse - Lastwagen an der Wand

Nach stundenlanger Fahrt auf der Schotterstraße plötzlich ein Schild mit einem traurigen Mondgesicht und der Frage: Durstig? Stumme Verwunderung. Wozu das Schild? Kopfschütteln. Dann der zweite Smiley: Hungrig? Erwachende Neugier. Kurz darauf ein drittes Schild mit blinzelndem Mondgesicht: Schläfrig? Erwartung. Spannung. Und Freude: Der vierte Smiley lächelt froh und kündigt ein Gasthaus an!

Das Cañon Roadhouse ist ein Gasthaus, das in gemütlicher Atmosphäre eines renovierten Farmgebäudes eine gute, herzhafte Küche bietet. Sieben Doppel- und zwei Familienzimmer mit hohen Wänden und eigenem Bad umschließen einen geschmackvoll angelegten und bepflanzten Innenhof.
Hinter den Kulissen
Selbstversorgung
Unser Team

Gästebuch
Newsletter
Reservierung
Anfahrt
Vor dem Restaurant liegt eine gemütliche Terrasse mit Steingarten. Wer sich nicht nur von innen, sondern auch von außen erfrischen möchte, kann das im nahe gelegenen Schwimmbecken tun. Und für das durstige Auto gibt es eine Tankstelle.

Ein paar hundert Meter entfernt, am anderen Ufer des Holoogberg-Riviers (Trockenflusses), lockt weicher Sandboden unter ausladenden Kameldornbäumen den Campinggast zum Aufschlagen seines Zeltes. Zwei Gebäude mit Dusche, WC, Waschraum und Spüle stehen dort zur Verfügung. Wer mal frei nehmen möchte vom abendlichen Kochen, ist auch gerne gesehener Gast im Restaurant des Roadhouse.

Nature Investments (Pty) Ltd, PO Box 80205, Windhoek, Namibia, Tel: 264 (0)61 230066, Fax: 264 (0)61 251863, eMail: info@sinadalian.com

Website by SOUTHERN DOMAIN - Cape Town